No laptop, No prospects.

Aki Parents!

Parents do the most, because they are created to do the most. Imagine being a comfortable grown up with very little responsibilities. Your life is yours and you are free to do what you want. Then you decide, ‘’you know what, I need some responsibility in my life. I need to ‘grow up’’ and then you decide to cultivate a WHOLE OTHER HUMAN BEING. Eh, in the words of my boyfriend, “that’s a lot.” This human being depends on you for everything. It becomes your duty to feed, clean, protect, nurture and every single hour of every single day. It’s a lot. This creature could decide to grow up and rebel. Or become everything that you have decided not to be. They could also become the best thing in your life and at some point, for some people, the only reason to continue living, because life be lifin’!

So yes, parents do the most, because they are created to do the most. If they didn’t you wouldn’t be alive today.

Behold, children are a gift of the Lord, The fruit of the womb is a reward.

Psalm 127:3


Being private vs. Being secret

Not everyone in these social media streets, and in the real world is your friend. Not everyone wants you to prosper and thrive. Some people are counting on your downfall and hate it when you are happy and whole. 

One of my favourite verses is 1 Thessalonians 4:11 and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you,’’ aka MIND YOUR BUSINESS AND KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT. Frankly, we don’t need to know your business. We are not interested in all the tiny nitty-gritties of your life. We just want peace, not violence. (Well, at least most of us.) The other mad ones are out for blood. The more information that you give, the more access that you give people who have no business in your life. 

Live your (offline) life, love your (offline) life. Keep it private. Not secret. 

He who isolates himself pursues selfish desires; he rebels against all sound judgement.

Proverbs 18:1


No Laptop. 

My laptop died on me this past week. I guess it was old and cranky, I just didn’t see the signs. I’m currently typing this on a borrowed laptop, and that’s all good. But it got me thinking:

‘’What have I not paid attention to that might just die on me?” 

“What am I taking for granted?” 

“Who am I taking for granted?” 

What would have happened, if I regularly serviced my laptop and gave it the tender loving care that it needed? What would happen if I service my relationships with the tender care that they deserve? What if I loved more? Listened more and cared more? Wouldn’t the world be a better place? Even if it’s the small world around me. Even if it’s the small circle of people I know who I love dearly, but don’t tell (or show) nearly enough.

Above all, have fervent and unfailing love for one another, because love covers a multitude of sins [it overlooks unkindness and unselfishly seeks the best for others].’’

1 Peter 4:8 AMP

No Prospects

Maybe you’ve read these three snippets and you have no prospects of having children, and starting a family or you have nothing serious in your life to keep private from the wider world, or no friendships to lovingly maintain. Maybe your life is just bland and boring and you might feel like you’re just existing with no purpose, plan or prospects. 

It can get discouraging and the thoughts in your head can get louder than reality. Maybe this has dented your esteem and left you feeling miserable about yourself or anxious about the future. Maybe you have regrets that ring louder than your victories from what feels like a life-time ago. If this is you, I have a word for you. 

Let’s look at what you have in your hand: your skill, talent, interest, voice, positive inclination. You always have something in your hand. Even when it feels like nothing. There is always something you can do, someone you can serve. Kindness doesn’t cost you a thing. Even when you feel bleh, going out of your way to make someone’s life better always, ALWAYS makes you feel better. I promise. 

Let your “no prospects” life be turned around because you have stepped out of yourself to serve others. You will be amazed by how much you have to give, and how many needs you can meet. You will discover the beauty that shines through you when you seek to serve others. Even if they do not appreciate you, remember God sees you. And sometimes that’s the best gift you can receive.

He who has pity on the poor lends to the Lord, And He wll pay back what he has given.

Proverbs 19:17

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you.

Luke 6:38

Njoki Mburu

20th May 2023

#wisdomwednesdays

Leave a comment